History of Parcel A in Hoffman Estates
The Parcel A subdivision is located in between Golf and Higgins Road just east of Roselle Road in Hoffman Estates and consists of mainly quaint ranch homes. Originally this area was a rural farming community and this piece of land, and its farm, belonged to Arthur and Dorothy Hammerstein. Arthur had a famous nephew who did Broadway musicals and Dorothy was a silent movie star but enjoyed the quiet rural life very much. After Arthur’s death, Dorothy sold the farm to Sam and Jack Hoffman who were owners of the Father and Son Construction Company, also known as F&S Construction. The plan was to build a new subdivision in Cook County which started out as Parcel A. Towards the end of 1955, the first homeowners began to move into this subdivision. Homes were built on ½ acre lots and sold for $14,500. The interest rate was 4½% and the down payments were as little as $700.
In 1956, the first school called Twinbrook, was opened in Parcel A. As the area grew, the residents voted to incorporate the land to be part of the Village of Hoffman Estates and this charter was issued on September 23, 1959. The newly incorporated subdivision started out as being just under 3 square miles and the population was about 8,000.
Nowadays, Parcel A lies in a unique area that sits close to the border of Hoffman Estates and Schaumburg. Its prime location provides incredibly easy access to restaurants, shopping, and pretty much any kind of convenience you can think of. Expressways are very close and so is Woodfield Mall which is one of the largest shopping destinations in the U.S. It also feeds into sought after Conant High School.